Skip to content

Surprised!

February 1, 2010

Well, already it is the end of January and so much has been going on. Typically, I have been a  reserved person who has been very careful about crossing lines, protecting the privacy of my family members and online interaction. However ,this challenge that I have taken with SOAR and stepping into the business of photography has caused me to stretch and grow in more ways than one. I realized that communtiy is and has always been a path of growth in our society. I also decided that I was missing out. Not only was I selfishly holding onto my own gifts but not sharing with this diverse community, but I was also missing out on receiving some of the wisdom of so many who has forged the path that I now travel on, before me. So one of the things I decided to do, along with this blog, was to actually get involved with more of the wonderful networks of  photographers out there who share my passion. As a result, I have started a Project 365 challenge and required myself to submit my images to contests and forums in an effort to share and grow.

One of the first communities that I chose  to enter an image into this year was the One Word Project over at the Shutter Sisters website. Much to my surprise my image was featured! If you have not been to their website and you like photography you are missing out. I have been a lurker on this site way before I ever decided to submit an image. Remember that reserved, maybe somewhat guarded person I mentioned above…like I told you that was me before I decided to come out of shadows. Well, anyway, their word for January was CREATE and boy do I love that word. Have you ever looked at a moment or visualized something in your mind that others probably would not see as art or magical? I have those moments often. So imagine my surpise when my Soar Sister Beryl from Bella Rose Photography mentioned that my image made it into the spotlight! It was a sweet surprise and another little burst of air beneath my little baby wings.

Here is the image that was appreciated by so many gifted photographers and made my day:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 8:55 am

    Charisse- congratulations on being featured on Shutter Sisters. That’s awesome. Great image… takes me back to when I was little and drawing was one of my favorite ways to spend time. So sweet.

    Beryl- I’m trying to view your blog but it says it’s private?? How do I get in? 🙂

  2. February 5, 2010 5:00 am

    Charisse! What a delight to find your blog! I wanted to see more posts! Your few images I saw were WONDERFUL! Can’t wait to see more 🙂

  3. February 5, 2010 6:28 am

    Congratulations! That is so awesome (and what an honor!) to be featured on Shutter Sisters!!!

    It is a great image that just reminds me of childhoold and its innocence.

    BTW – are those fashion plates she’s using???? I recently found mine at my parents house. It is the original from the early 80s! =)

    • Charisse permalink*
      February 6, 2010 7:47 pm

      Thanks so much for commenting! She is using a Fashion Runway plate set. It creates may hours of fun here.

Leave a Reply

