Skip to content

One month down

February 5, 2010

With new adventures come new challenges, more possibilities, more experience and definitely more growth. In order to push myself into growing my art form and improving in my craft, I decided to begin a Project 365 challenge. Now, I don’t know about you, but the commitment to attempt to take a picture every day for a full year seems very daunting to me. However, I do realize how much growth, not ignoring the memories, that completing a project like that would bring. I have looked at the completed projects of others online and thought, “what a great way to visualize where you were physically and emotionally for every month of the year” when the project is complete.  I’ll tell you truthfully, I attempted this last year as well. Needless to say, I did not finish it. I think I made it 19 days. Turns out for me the picture-taking was not the problem, it was the uploading. I just could not wrap my mind around uploading one image every day. My days are often so unpredictable.

However, the only failure is in not trying right? Right! Every year, shucks….every day, brings new possibilities and new opportunities. So with that said, I am proud to say that already I have surpassed my last attempt. Yes sir, I actually took a picture every day in January! My plan this year is to give myself a monthly, and sometimes weekly theme to keep me looking for fresh things to capture. I honestly believe that the simplest things in life are beautiful and we definitely need to lift our heads up more often to make sure that precious moments don’t pass us by.  Although most of my images on this 365 project will have limited processing, there are definitely times will I will use some type of post processing as a theme to keep me motivated and help me to learn more about the craft as well as continue to define my personal style.

 I will tell you this  last month has made me realize  that time definitely does not wait for anyone, life is short, and moments are fleeting. I encourage you to start a project of your own. It need not be fancy or long. Maybe document a day in your family’s life, or even a week, such as the one done by the talented Ali Edwards. If scrapbooking is not your thing, that’s okay too. Just upload and print your month in a collage or a small coffee table book. Just keep snapping.  In order not to overwhelm myself, I kept my first month theme simple. I will call it Slices of Life, and they are pieces of my daily routine. Here are a few that spoke the most to me.

And this one;

Additional images can be found under my other blog 52images.wordpress.com.  That is where  I will post my weekly favorites. Feel free to take a look and leave some comment love so I know that you’ve stopped by.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2010 8:59 am

    I LOVE it. I love the banner image. I’m a fan of clean, streamlined blog designs. This is very nice. I look forward to more from you!

    • Charisse permalink*
      February 7, 2010 7:36 am

      Thank you Rhonda.

  2. Suzanne permalink
    February 5, 2010 1:28 pm

    Charisse,

    I’ve been watching you guys from MeRa’s SOAR project and am a lurker on the SOAR sister’s facebook page. Just wanted to say that your photography is stunning. The photo above with the two baseball players made me want to cry because of the tenderness you have captured there. I love your blog and I will continue to live vicariously through all of you!

    Thanks
    Suzanne

  3. February 5, 2010 5:39 pm

    I LOVE the way you have laid out this page!! You have just enough pictures to not take away from the writing, but also just enough to support it with GREAT imagery. Beautifully done, I cant wait to hear more!

  4. February 5, 2010 8:00 pm

    Charisse- I know how hard it is to come up with things to write. You’ve taken some great images – I love the baseball players!
    keep it up!
    🙂

    • Charisse permalink*
      February 7, 2010 7:38 am

      Gosh, I hope so. I am rarely short on words so I naturally thought that would transfer on a blog. Was I surprised. I’m sure it will come together. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. February 8, 2010 4:05 pm

    I’m so excited that you are going to join us at Through the Lens of Worship. Thanks for the kind comments on my blog. I’m really looking forward to what God has in store for us this year!

Leave a Reply

