Skip to content

Dreaming of WPPI…

February 14, 2010

Well, I really did not expect to be entering another public contest so soon. However, when you are going for your goals & dreams, there are probably lots of things you will find yourself doing that you never expected. Although I am fairly new in pursuing my desire to start  a balanced, professional and successful business, I have been day dreaming about it for years.

I remember last year around this time hearing about this convention in Las Vegas called WPPI. Everybody, who was anybody  in the photography world ( at least those I knew about) was going. I followed the blogs of all my favorite professional photographers, Jasmine Star, Becker, Jessica Claire, and many more and I dreamed. I dreamed often. However, I let my insecurities and other things become obstacles and reasons why I could not attend. I thought about asking a photographer friend if she was interested in going because I certainly was not brave enough to be among so many talented photography superstars in the “City of Lights” alone.  I was way tooo intimidated. This does not even include  the fact that neither of us had even put out a shingle, sought out a paid customer, or had any idea on how to start a business from our “love of photography” in  addition to the young children at home. So I deferred. I just kept my desire to attend a personal secret and hoped that I would get the opportunity the following year.

Well this is the following year, and although many things have stayed the same, so many things have changed! While some of the challenges still remain, I have changed! After submitting my video   for the SOAR scholarship from Me Ra Koh,I realized that the only thing stopping me is me,  my confidence and the registration fee. 🙂 Yet all of this can be worked out with time, experience, mentorship and risk taking.

A few things hold true;
1)  I am still the 2nd half of a one income household so finances are tighter than ever, registration costs and plane tickets are not in my budget especially when I really need to save for better equipment.  But thanks to people like TOFURIOUS, Shootsac, and others giving away registrations, that issue can be minimized. I can find accommodations  and if you pick me for a free registration I guarantee you I will find a plane ticket!

2) I am still very new in pursuing my goal of starting my business, therefore, really trying to fine tune the direction of my market…portraits only…weddings….etc. I think the environment of WPPI to have so many successful people imparting their experience can only help me narrow down my brand and what my market will be.

3) I homeschool my children. Before child care was an issue…this year I have already worked it out and you would be giving me the ADDED BLESSING of getting some much needed ME, ADULT, FOCUS, INSPIRATION,  & hopefully FUN time AWAY from the vacuum of life. At one point in my life, I did dance…I can probably still kick up some dust given the chance. :0

Finally, should you choose me, I will make it a point to personally come and say a giant THANK YOU for assisting my on my journey.

And since a post is always better with a picture, here is little old me. Just so you will recognize me when I get there!DSC_0014

Feel free to shoot me an email to tell me I won (charisserhodes@gmail.com)!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2010 3:12 pm

    Charisse,

    What a great post. I hope you win! Crossing my fingers for you! I am not going to WPPI this year, but hopefully next year!

    Marla-Dee

  2. March 2, 2010 4:29 am

    I hope you win. Great post!

  3. March 14, 2010 8:23 pm

    Dear Charisse,
    After meeting you on March 6th, I can tell you are such a sweet and beautiful person, both inside and outside.
    Your love of life and family inspires me ~ I hope you get your hearts desire to go to the WWPI. It’s been a dream of mine for a VERY long time.
    I wish you the best both in your business and with your beautiful family.
    I’m honored for you to be part of our group of Soarority Sisters in Central CA, and I was so happy to meet you for the first time!
    Love,
    Susan

    • Charisse permalink*
      March 16, 2010 3:48 am

      Thank you Susan. I got a similiar sense from you. It was such a pleasure meeting you and the other ladies. I truly look forward to watching us grow this year in many areas, not just photography. You too have a beautiful spirit and an amazing gift.

Leave a Reply

