Skip to content

Pleasantly Inspired…

March 19, 2010

I have come to realize that a big part of anything you do, must be your reason why.  The reason I am so passionate about photography is not only to capture images, but also  to create art, inflict a particular mood that I may see in a fleeting moment, or even create the mood. I realize that when I think too much, I lose the instinctive essence of the actual moment that I am trying to capture. I am an artist at heart and photography is merely one of the mediums that I use to display my artwork.  Last night, I had the pleasure of attending a PPSV meeting here in town. I had never been to one and really did not know what to expect, but what I received was so amazing! During this moving forward phase of venturing out into the world of  “art/photography for pay or as a professional”, I began to struggle trying to pin myself  into a genre. Somewhat of a “speciality or genre” that could be summed up with one or two categorical words,________  photographer. Unfortunately, so far, no single term has felt right. I love art. I love beauty. I love nature. Basically we could say that I love life. I love all the elements of life created by God that provides evidence that we were here and that HE loved us enough to provide this beautiful place we call A WORLD!

 The speakers at last nights PPSV meeting were the lovely Leslie Artis Gan and Michael Gan of Meritage House Fine Art Portrait Photography. They spoke about photography as more than pictures. They captured the essence of emotion that should be seen in our images or whatever our medium is. The key point they made that resonated with me was that we must first feel what we see in order to capture what we see. While technical details are definitely important, what will make us different is the “heart and soul” that is pouring out of the image. I am fairly new to this industry, but  I believe being able to capture that “heartfelt moment” is what makes it art. It is truly a soul connection with the moment or the vision that will translate to true fine art. Then having the ability to imprint that into a medium, in any creative way that speaks to the artist, is really what this journey is all about.

I left that meeting lighter, more free. The primary desire in my life is to be  more in tune with my authentic self and more open to the direction of the Holy Spirit that guides my life.  I don’t want to be influence by reasons other than those on any choices that I make for my life. I don’t want to be detoured off the path of doing things for any other reasons than passion and purpose. The work of other artists should be used for inspiration only. It does not make my style any less significant nor should it cause me to define or redefine mine. That is what makes me…well…Me. So as of today, for now, I am leaving the worries of labels alone. The misuse or misinterpretation of labels and titles have always bothered me anyway. I am going to continue to capture what inspires me and memories that I cherish. God willing, that will translate into  some beautiful art that will be a blessing to those who set their eyes upon it. I am sure during this journey, I will streamline and redefine myself. But for now, I am just going to be happy to “create images that can be cherished.”

A Mother's Love

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 10:29 am

    Way to go Charisse!!

  2. March 20, 2010 3:06 am

    Well said in every way…plus a wonderful photo to go with it! If there is ever another meeting like that close to where we live, I’d be interested in trying it out.

    • Charisse permalink
      March 21, 2010 3:42 am

      Thank you Susan. I willdefinitely keep you informed when I find out.

  3. Patty Giaviano permalink
    March 22, 2010 12:37 pm

    Charisse, how exciting to have the opportunity to see a real artist take-off right from the very beginning of her venture! You are right on with pursuing the talent that God gave you! Talk with you soon.

    • Charisse permalink*
      April 10, 2010 7:23 am

      I did not even see this message. Thanks so much for your support and excitement!

  4. April 8, 2010 11:56 pm

    I needed to read this today….awesome and inspiring….and i’m excited about this journey were on! GodBless you richly!

    • Charisse permalink*
      April 10, 2010 7:22 am

      Thanks Taberah. I am so glad you were blessed by reading this. If I touch or reach just the one person God sends my way buy following his lead, then I too am blessed. Looking forward to what the Lord has in store for both of us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

