Skip to content

On the other side of the action…

August 3, 2010

A few weeks ago I was asked to second shoot a wedding with a wonderful professional photographer that I know. You can’t even imagine my excitement when I received the email from Susan of Susan Sparks Photography telling me that she had seen some of my work and she really liked it. She was also in need of an assistant for a few sessions that she had coming up and she felt it would be a great win win for both of us. One of the jobs she had coming up was a wedding. My answer was a very loud …Yes! Susan and I knew one another from our children’s old school so the rapport was immediate and easy. The following images in in this post are from the wedding last month of Andrea & Keaton. I had to wait awhile to post in order to ensure that Susan had time to do her thing…as I was honored that she was so awesome to allow me to post some of the images that I took. This wedding was a great experience. Not only did I get to see a wedding from the eyes of a photographer, I also was able to put myself in the mind of taking stock of some of the details that I would have liked to see had it been my own wedding.

Everyone involved in this wedding was so wonderful. I should note however, that the pressure on my mind was still high. Could I do it? Would my images be anywhere near the expectation level of those viewing? Since I was not the primary photographer, my job was to capture the details and the less posed moments, would I miss the important ones? Whew…the questions were unending.

I did not know the bride and groom personally. The first time I met them was the night before at their venue. Let me just say they were both beautiful! However, their beauty did not stop at the surface level, it radiated from within. They both looked so excited and full of anticipation it was wonderful to watch this day transpire. Here are a few of the images that I captured from that day. I would love your feedback. Be brutally honest with a gentle heart…if you can. Remember…these images are from my first wedding ever.

Andreaedw

andreaedw_5022

andrea8edw5019

Andrea7edw4740

andrea storyboard

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2010 7:25 am

    Beautifully done, Charisse! Really lovely!!

    • Charisse permalink*
      August 20, 2010 2:54 pm

      Thanks Ajira. It was nervewracking and fun all at the same time! I can’t even imaging how nervous I will be when I do a wedding of my own!

  2. August 20, 2010 1:11 pm

    These are great! My fave is the first one. I love shots like that. The ones that make you slow down and take a deep breath. So nice!

    • Charisse permalink*
      August 20, 2010 2:55 pm

      Thanks Carol for stoppng by and taking a moment to comment! I truly appreciate it!

  3. August 21, 2010 4:19 am

    Charisse, these are incredible. You did an amazing job, truly. I agree that the first shot is beautiful. Way to go.

  4. Linda permalink
    August 22, 2010 7:46 pm

    Charisse, these are AMAZING! I am so proud of you for just going for it! What an awesome opportunity… the results speak for themselves. Can’t wait to see what’s in store for you next! HUGS!!!

  5. August 23, 2010 5:24 pm

    This are absolutely STUNNING!!! Great job, Charisse!!!

    • Charisse permalink*
      August 24, 2010 3:54 pm

      Thanks so much Natalia, Linda and Michelle! I really appreciate your feedback and your visit! I am so excited for all of us. Now if I can just push past this “fear” thing…I’ll be off and running! lol.

  6. August 25, 2010 6:43 am

    These are amazing Charisse. If you hadn’t said it, I’d have never known it was your first wedding. I’d honestly have thought you’d been doing this for awhile. GREAT JOB!!!

    • Charisse permalink*
      August 25, 2010 2:42 pm

      Thanks so much Rhonda! I really appreciate your feedback. It is so encouraging.

Leave a Reply

