Skip to content

an unexpected surprise…

August 24, 2010

I am from New Jersey and I try to get back there often to see my family. My 93 year old grandmother, mother, and several cousins that we have such fun with. There is really nothing like home. Although, I will probably never live there again, it is like a gas station for me….seeing my loved ones…just being there, makes me feel full when I have become empty inside. The sight of the ocean, the smell of the ocean air, the feeling of the sand between my toes and the opportunity to see my family and sleep in  my old room is calming to my spirit. I absolutely LOVE my mother’s company and totally enjoy EVERY moment that I spend with her. My grandmother is a “piece of work” and the time spent with her is something I cherish.

Aside from all that, however, this year I had a special opportunity waiting for me and that was to meet my new online friend that I met through Me Ra Koh’s Soar Scholarship opportunity. She is one of the nicest people who I have met online and I totally looked forward to meeting her in person. Her name is Feuza Reis of Feuza Reis Photography. She is as talented and dynamic in person as she is online and it was so special to connect the name & the face with the real person. Feuza organized a Bridal Shootout complete with vendors, models, dresses, makeup artists and other very talented photographers! It was so much fun. I must admit, that the energy and the talent in the room was a bit intimidating for me and my amount of images suffered. However, that was definitely my own hang up and by the end of the day…I was relaxed. lol! Seriously, everyone was really very nice and giving of their time and experience.  It was so cool to be in such talented company. The event took place right in our own backyard and the newly renovated Berkeley Carteret in Asbury Park, NJ on the boardwalk. The bouquets and flower accessories were done by Divine Decor, and some very talented woman named Yvonne Moss and her crew did hair and makeup. Did I say it was awesome? Well it was.

So without further delay…since this is a photoblog…here are a few of the images that I captured.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. ajira permalink
    August 24, 2010 5:47 pm

    Great post Charisse! So lovely to hear about you meeting Feuza in person. The shootout sounds awesome! We should totally do one too!! And the images you captured are stunning! Please show us more!!!

    • Charisse permalink*
      August 25, 2010 12:25 am

      Aww Ajira, your comment is so sweet! Thanks for the kind words. Meeting Feuza was really nice. I would love to do one in Cali sometime soon. We should talk more about it. I will post more very soon. Been really busy here with my momma!

  2. Patricia Lett Wells permalink
    September 11, 2010 5:04 am

    Beautiful work Charisse. Where have you been hiding this talent? The phrase, “a picture is worth a thousand words” have always held true. I’ll certainly remember you when God’s man, finds me. God is using you in great and mighty ways. Continue to walk the walk!

    • Charisse permalink*
      September 11, 2010 5:54 am

      Thanks so much Patricia! I think I uncover more of what God has for me as I learn to cast my cares upon him & simply walk where he leads me.

  3. September 15, 2010 9:44 am

    Honey…after seeing your photography, you have nothing to be intimidated about…your work is classy and artistic.
    Love your blog and it was so good to see you tonight or yesterday night rather.
    Thought of moving my blog over to WordPress, but don’t want to lose all the posts I have on both of them…do you know if there’s a way to move them?
    See you soon and happy shooting!
    pssst…what does ocf mean that you have on FB? lol…looked up the acronym and found so many it could stand for and didn’t make sense! 🙂

    • Charisse permalink
      September 16, 2010 5:19 pm

      Susan, thank you so much for the kind words! I am working past my intimidation very slowly but working nevertheless. It was very nice to see you also. It’s always good to share your passions with people who can relate to them.

      As for moving your blog…I am definitely blog challenged and therefore can’t offer any help. But good luck. I know there are many blog/website friendly mavens out there who can assist you.

      OCF is short for off camera flash. We talked about it a bit at the end of the night and I mentioned that I really liked the potential results when I figure it out better. Anyway…ttys and happy snapping!

  4. October 12, 2010 4:05 am

    These images are so beautiful they make me want to put my wedding gown on and go on a photo shoot! Great job!

Leave a Reply

