Skip to content

Manipulating Light

October 22, 2010

Last year, sometime when I really started to dive harder into the world of photography, my husband was adamant that I learn how to use and take pictures in any type of lighting. He felt that if I learned how to use flash and strobes effectively, then I would be controlled by the lighting situations I faced and would in fact, control the mood of my images through the variables that different lighting situations present. I highly resisted, but then he surprised me last year with a “basic lighting kit”. It was more than I needed and certainly has been a valuable, yet daunting tool. While I LOVE the look of natural light and freezing a moment in time through as little invasion as possible, I have since realized that I also love the added dimension and artistic mood changes that lighting can invoke…(when you get it right that is). I found five sites on line and I loved the style, really the mood, of their images. Many of them done with off camera flash or strobes. Triple Cord by Annette Biggers, Zack AriasRock that OCF by Ali Hohn, NicholeV Art as Life, and David Ziser, create some of the most dramatic images that really touch the artsy side of me. You should check them out if you haven’t already. I would LOVE to go to any of their workshops one day, God willing and finances provided. While dragging equipment around to  every shoot would not be my true desire…from an artistic standpoint…having that skill in my arsenal would be phenomenal! So my husband knew a little more about my style than I did. (Don’t tell him though!) Seriously, I am grateful. I have recently started taking on using my lighting more often in personal projects that I am working on with two awesomely creative best friends of mine who are not only gifted poetically….seriously….they have an amazing ability with words. They also have an unyielding conceptual eye and vision that works so well with mine. Not only that, but they tolerate being in front of my lights while I work on mastering this side of the craft. 

Battered-005

We currently have a personal project that we are working on, putting images to a series of their poetry that we hope will make an impactful statement and bring a voice to a community that  truly  does not get the respect that it should.  Without giving it all away…here are a few images from the first session.

Battered-079

This project will tell a story and bring visual imagery to some very powerful written word. Stay tuned while I fine tune my OCF and create a powerful project at the same time!

Battered-092

Feel free to say hello in the comments and leave some blog love so I know you were here!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 5:12 am

    so proud of you Charisse, LOVE the firs shot and looking forward to your project

    • Charisse permalink*
      October 22, 2010 5:24 am

      Thanks Feuza! Watching and cheering over here for you too!

  2. Alise permalink
    October 22, 2010 5:40 am

    This is so great! I’m interested to find out more about this project. Thanks for sharing!

  3. October 22, 2010 7:59 am

    Oh Charisse!! Love, love, LOVE that first shot. SOoooo glamorous and just spot on. Dying to hear more about your project.

    • Charisse permalink*
      October 23, 2010 5:43 am

      Thanks Ajira & Alise for the love. Hopefully it will be a dynamic & thought provoking project when it is complete.

  4. Liane Dimond permalink
    October 23, 2010 4:46 am

    Hi Charisse, These are wonderful and you did a great job. I can’t wait to see more pictures and hear about your project too!!!

  5. October 25, 2010 6:04 pm

    that’s awesome!!

    • Charisse permalink*
      October 25, 2010 8:07 pm

      Mary, thanks so much for stopping by and commenting on my blog! I love the work you guys do!

  6. November 8, 2010 6:16 pm

    Wow, that first shot is particularly BEAUTIFUL!! Great job! : ))

Leave a Reply

