Skip to content

Fun in the fields

November 1, 2010

Recently I had the pleasure of photographing a beautiful young lady named Whitney who has dreams of entering the field of modeling. I could tell immediately that she had never experienced having a camera focused solely on her for a period of time and it was a definite moment of growth for the both of us. I was challenged to move away from my primary photojournalist style of shooting, where I like to almost be on the outside looking in, to a more up close coaxing and directing style. A blessing for me was that I had a wonderful stylist on hand who really assisted us both as an additional set of eyes and definitely at times a comic relief. As the session progressed, it was obvious to see how both of our comfort levels started to grow and we began to work together to allow the creative process to flow…in a sense…have it’s way. Whitney is a beautiful, coy, young lady with wonderful manners and a perfect stature. Here are a few of the images that we were able to capture together that day.

Whitney-029-2wm

Whitney-099edhairwm

 

Whitney-100aedwmfb

Whitney-106aedwmbl

While we were in this field…we did encounter a snake. However, no one was injured during this shoot. It was, however, a reminder to always be observant of your surroundings.

Whitney-109edblwm

Whitney-121aedwmbl

Whitney-127edwmbltst

Thanks Whitney! You were a great sport and a beautiful model!  It was a lot of fun.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 5:28 pm

    love that golden light, yummy

  2. November 2, 2010 5:49 pm

    Awesome job Charisse! I love the 4th one down. Great use of props :).

  3. Liane Dimond permalink
    November 2, 2010 6:14 pm

    Beautiful lady and beautiful pictures!

  4. November 2, 2010 8:27 pm

    Woo hoo! You see, this whole directing thing will come with practice – and the less you have to worry about the technical stuff the more you can focus on this. Looks like you’re already there! Go you!!!

    PS. Snakes huh? I thought we only had to worry about the Easter Bunny’s bones around here!

    • Charisse permalink*
      November 2, 2010 9:04 pm

      Thanks Linda! I did have a bit of help, but it is becoming easier.

  5. November 2, 2010 8:46 pm

    Charisse these are stunning! Your model looks like a natural and the lighting is so beautiful.
    Great work girl!!!

    • Charisse permalink*
      November 2, 2010 9:07 pm

      Thanks Shelley. It was totally fun racing against the time of sunset & then using a little flash for fill.

  6. Barney Keys permalink
    November 2, 2010 8:53 pm

    OMG– Your work is phenomenal — Wish I had you closer so I could support your business.

    • Charisse permalink*
      November 2, 2010 9:11 pm

      Thanks Jay! I really appreciate your comments here. I wish you were closer so I could see you and get to know your family! Oh yea, the support would be great too!

  7. Alise permalink
    November 3, 2010 6:17 am

    Nice work both of you! My favorite is the one with the trees with the sunset in the background. Whitney has a great smile! You know what I figured out, the person being photographed has to have a connection with the photographer. It’s not who they are with in the picture but who is behind the camera. This looks like a great session.

    • Charisse permalink*
      November 3, 2010 7:34 am

      Thanks Alise! I will call you to discuss session details.

  8. Alise permalink
    November 3, 2010 6:19 am

    btw, how much do you charge for a sitting fee? I’m strapped for cash since I’m going through a divorce. I am thinking of getting the kids pictures done for Christmas greetings cards through Costco. I love outdoor natural shots.. Blessings!

  9. Andrea Hsiao permalink
    November 4, 2010 5:37 am

    Charisse! They’re Beautiful! I love the pics. Love the setting and lighting. 🙂

    • Charisse permalink*
      November 6, 2010 8:06 am

      Thanks Andrea! I really appreciate the feedback!

Leave a Reply

