Skip to content

Stepping out

January 10, 2011

This year in 2011 I have challenged myself to truly step out beyond my comfort zone. To do this I am embarking on 2 separate projects designed to push me beyond the limits of my focus and comfort levels. The first project is a Project 365 which I started last year and did not complete. The pressure of finding a new subject, feeling the need to edit every image and then the daily uploading was more than a notion. I just could not keep up. However, when I look at all of the completed 365 projects out there, I realized that I was sad. Sad that I did not have  a daily review of my life in pictures, nor the accomplishment of sticking to something that became very tedious. So I am trying again. This time however, I  am using my cell phone. There will be very little to no editing, and what I get at the end of the day from the things that caught my eye is it! So far, I have made it 8 days. I am going to stop counting now, however, because the sound of 357 more days is overwhelming to say the least. So a not to overwhelm this blog, I will be keeping up with this project on my other blog (found here) and Facebook if you are interested in taking a look. These images will not be perfect and I am okay with that. What they will be is a representation of my year and that is all that I am looking for at this time.

The second project is a 52 week self portrait project. One image a week for 52 weeks. I am hoping that this project will do several things for me. Those things are, 1) challenging me to become more and more comfortable being in front of the camera 2) Growth and development in portraying the different facets that make me ….me. 3) Sharing those things about myself with those who are interested in getting to know me a little better. I am posting the first image for this here, however again, so as not to overwhelm anyone reading this with too much me…after today they to will be found in a different location. I am still determining where that will be and I will make that information ready within the next week.

So without further ado, here is the first one. This was taken while doing some studio work in my little home setup with studio lighting. Please let me know what you think. More will be available on my Facebook page.

self wk1

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2011 7:13 am

    OMG! When we think alike like this it’s almost scary! I love this idea. Yay you for getting it up and going. (the links aren’t working by the way. to the other blog)

    Love this self-portrait. Woohoo!! I’m joining you on both of these projects for the year! We can do it!

    • Charisse permalink*
      January 12, 2011 6:21 pm

      Yay! Thanks for commenting! Can you believe I did this photo with my makeshift studio setup at my front door? lol! I am so glad you are joining me on these projects. It will be so much fun. The self portrait project is revealing very interesting things to me about myself. The 365 is challenging me to remember to shoot! You know they say “Great minds think alike”. ;0 luv ya, C-

  2. January 14, 2011 7:28 pm

    At your front door? Way to rock it mama!!

    I did the shoot every day thing last year. It really helped me to not set it up or commit to sharing every day or whatever. Sometimes I pile the pressure on too high and then just can’t do it. You know? But once I got in my groove, it became really easy and then I just loved it. And I was really gentle with myself the few times that I didn’t shoot for whatever reason.

    Never managed to keep up the self-portraits. Mainly because I got bored of myself. Wound up shooting essentially the same image of me over and over. I’ve been soooooo inspired by Sarah Permeh and by an amazing Nordic photographer whose name escapes me. Both are such amazing artists and don’t just capture an image of themselves but something much deeper, more transient and more enthralling. That’s what I’m going for this year.

  3. Mom permalink
    January 29, 2011 2:37 am

    What a beautiful self portrait. Young lady, you ROCK!!!!!! Good Luck with the project, I will be one of your followers. I am one of the proudest parents in the world. I love you.

  4. February 24, 2011 5:31 am

    OH my!!! I have never heard of a 52 week self portrait project! I was going to do one a month but you are even more ambitious! That’s totally awesome! And there is something to be said for being comfortable in front of the camera, and how that relates to the times we are behind the camera! GOOD LUCK! This is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

