Skip to content

She is…

January 15, 2011

One of the things that make my holidays so special is the my mom comes to visit us. She has been doing it, almost every year since my children were born. It’s funny that I have come to find that even Christmas shopping for me is not quite right until she gets here. It is not in what she buys for my children or my family, but what her presence ignites in my spirit. We have a wonderful relationship this lady & I. It is one that I will treasure for the rest of my life. She has adopted my husband and friends just like they are one of hers. If you love me, then she loves you. It’s just that simple. This trip, I had to get her & I in front of my camera for some quick images. We did it midnight of the day she was leaving. We had a ton of fun and were able to capture some pretty cool images to boot.

She is …the one who has told me all my life that I can do ANYTHING and REALLY mean it.

She is …the one who knows what I need even before I open my mouth.DSC_0168mom

She is…the one who even after I get a little indignant (sometimes I do, unbelievable huh)will call me right back and keep talking about something totally different like nothing ever happened.

She is…the one who can make me smile when no one else can.DSC_0202

She is…truly my best friend.

She is …the wind beneath my wings. I am me…because she loved me.DSC_0195

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 3:19 am

    Oh wow. What a wonderful ode to your mama. She’s beautiful! Hope I get to meet her the next time she comes! I hope my children feel this way someday!

  2. January 20, 2011 9:50 pm

    Just read on Me Ra Koh’s blog that you were one of the 2010 winners of the Soar! Scholarship! I just started to cry and am so incredibly happy for you! I can’t wait to follow your journey! I can’t think of anyone more deserving! Congrats! Congrats! I’m so happy for you!

    • Charisse permalink*
      January 21, 2011 5:51 am

      Brooke thanks so much for taking the time to share in my joy! It was so kind of you to take the time to send my well wishes. Thank you again. It really means alot coming from you. I respect you as an artist, mom and child of God so much!

  3. February 20, 2011 9:33 pm

    Charisse, I especially love that last picture of your mom with her hat on! What a beautiful woman you have for a mother and what an amazing daughter she raised. Thanks for sharing (and meeting me..:0) ) It is nice meeting you (and your mom).

    • Charisse permalink*
      February 21, 2011 7:36 am

      Thank you Trisch.

Leave a Reply

