Skip to content

Mining for Diamonds

August 26, 2011

It’s been a while since I have written in this blog here in my corner of the web. I’ve missed it, however, it just seemed to get away from me with all of the things that I have been doing. Truth of the matter is that I have probably made blogging a bigger deal in my mind than it really needs to be. The thought of content, stats, domains, followers, and everything else made it loom bigger in my mind than I ever intended to make it. Really I just wanted to share my life, my view of the world through my images and at times the ins & outs, ups & downs of our families homeschooling journey.

So much has happened in this last year that I need to share or at least get it out of my mind. This past weekend I was blessed to have a 24 hour whirlwind getaway with this handsome man, totally planned in our own city.

It was fabulous. Keith works tons of hours and does not often get time to relax. I am busy doing my thing and working with our kids. This time was just for the two of us. We took a backpack complete with lunch and a blanket, bikes in the back of our truck and set off to our hotel on the river. Once there we biked to a spot where we could find a little slice of Heaven and we stopped for lunch. During this time, we simply laid back, cast our cares away, and dreamt as the boats sailed by.

From there we biked it back to our beautiful hotel  the La Rivage, which is on the river and were greeted with some AH MAZING service and a gorgeous room. I don’t know about you, but I love great service. It just enhances the experience of being pampered and restoring yourself from the perils of everyday chores.

We stood on our balcony and looked at the private marina that was in front of us. It was simply peaceful.

There was actually a wedding taking place that day as well. You could just feel the love in the air. (Cliche but true.)

Waiting for me in this beautiful room was this:

And this;

and this;

I was determined to experience it all!  It is so easy to forget about life around you and pamper yourself. This past weekend, we did just that. We ate, wined, dined and relaxed together. The saying goes that you get out of life, what you put into it. This past weekend,  we were all in and it was great. This hotel was wonderful on all levels. Scott’s Seafood, the resturant that was attached was delicious as well. Everyone was happy. Sometimes the gems are right in your own backyard. A little excavation is all that is necessary.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

