Skip to content

Jump into Life

October 26, 2011

I know this is going to age me quite a bit, but one of my favorite movies of all times is Forest Gump. I must admit, I am terrible about remembering lines from movies but I will never forget. ” Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you are going to get.” -Forest Gump.  I have always believed that I am flexible and laid back in such away that I could always flow with whatever was happening around me. In fact, that’s pretty much how I have lived my life since becoming an adult. However, there has always been more of an adventurous side to me that I allowed to be supressed  in order to be an adult and make sure that I would be here for my children. In plain English, I began to avoid anything that involved risk. Over the years I played it safer and safer until one day…yesterday in fact…I could no longer avoid the voice in my head that said “it is time.”  Time for what…well to Skydive of course! There is another line in that same movie where Forest’s mother tells him to “run Forest run.” I can’t tell you where he was running to or from but I am pretty sure he ran.

When I woke up yesterday, some things just did not seem right. Overall I am a very mellow person who loves to laugh and have fun, but yesterday I just could not shake it. After talking to my sister (we’ve adopted one another for life) I realized that I needed to do something different. In an instant, I knew that it would be to make that dive that I have wanted to do for years but avoided for the safe route. After realizing that I have just as much chance dying in a car on one of my millions of trips to and fro, this risk did not seem to be much greater, but the pull to do it was. Jump Charisse Jump. That is what I heard in my head. Not a jump for a death wish, but in fact, the jump was for life. It was a jump into living life more fully, more alive and more complete than I had done in years. There would be no sacrifice this time. After seeking God on the matter, I knew whatever happened was within HIS will and that was fine with me. I know this post is a bit personal, but i just had to share some of my favorite moments from the jump. It is amazing, when you really open your eyes and your mind, what you can see inside of you as well as in front of you. Of course I purchased the dvd too. I really thought about putting it on here, but then decided to spare you. Please let me know in the comments if any is interested in seeing it and I will put it in another post.

The bottom line is;  You only get one life. It is short and it will be what you make it. Life yours to the fullest possible while honoring God in the process. If you do, you will surely prosper.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 4, 2011 5:58 pm

    Well, there are some things that I would NEVER do for the shot! Haha! You go, girl! And btw, thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

